Making a Difference

By Sreedipta Dhar Choudhury, 
Global Links Participant,
Kolkata, India

It was a Monday morning, I had just got done with one of my classes in college and headed to a seminar by Dr. Sharmistha Banerjee on Social Entrepreneurship. It was an introductory session for the Global Links Program. Little did I know that it would be such a life-altering and enriching experience and “I would be making a difference in the society for the greater good.” It has been more than five months that I have been an active GL participant. I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to work under the guidance of Dr. Sharmistha Banerjee and Dr. Mary Conway. I learnt a lot working hand in hand with my fellow GL participants and Michelle Hernandez, the GL Graduate Assistant, who visited us from Florida.

ds

As a Global Links participant, I have been working with Rakhi Mondal, an entrepreneur who runs her own business of stuffed toys, in broadening the scope of her business. I feel that there is a lot of talent and potential in the rural area, it just needs to be channelized. Rakhi’s hard work and consistency are very inspirational. She has come across many impediments in her journey but has never let her spirit waive. I have learnt from her that the human spirit can never be crushed.

 

The Global Links program has opened new doors for me to a bigger and brighter world of opportunities to help the society and provided me with exposure and experience which will ignite my future ambition.

I believe that success is not a magic trick, it needs tenacity, purpose and knowledge. Being a part of this program, I have learnt a lot from the professors, bank executives, global corporate heads and professionals from the related fields whom I have had the opportunity to meet in the course of this endeavor.

Thank you Global Links!

One comment

  1. Mary Conway Dato-on · July 26

    Another great story. This positive impacts are so important to discuss and spread. Our media has many negative stories but there are many positive, pro-active people making our world a better place. Thanks to all the Global Links partners!

    Like

Leave a Reply

