Experiences from the Sullivan Ignite Retreat

By a Rollins Student

 

When I applied for the Sullivan Retreat, I expected to learn more about social entrepreneurship since I am a business management major. I figured this would be a great way to immerse myself into this retreat and learning different type of leadership skills and initiatives that I can take back to Rollins. When I first arrived at Chestnut Ridge Camp & Retreat Center, I was ecstatic to meet around 60 inspiring individuals who had the same passion and area of interest as me. They all wanted to take initiative in their campus and came here to learn the skills to do so. I gained so much knowledge just by hearing the experiences of the amazing speakers who hosted various workshops depending on what level you are on according to developing your action plan. After participating in various workshops and interacting with like-minded students from different backgrounds, I was able to grasp what I needed to do in order to make a difference in my campus. They inspired me to go above and beyond with the skills I just learned and even offered their support. After this retreat, I decided to start a Network of enlightened Women (NeW) chapter at Rollins which aims to educate young women on conservative values, which cultivates a community to discuss and strengthen these values, and encourages young women to speak out on campus and in their communities. NeW’s goal is to educate and train the next generation of conservative women leaders. By creating a NeW chapter here at Rollins, I plan to hold weekly meeting to discuss opportunities and challenges facing women today as well as current political issues. Moreover, to foster the education and leadership skills of conservative women and expanding the intellectual diversity on college campuses.

 

picture1

Our facilitators created a poster to illustrate using “How” and “What” to ask questions, rather than “why.”

 

picture2

Group photo!

 

picture4

WE LOVED OUR EXPERIENCE AT THE SULLIVAN IGNITE RETREAT! IT IS DEFINITELY AN EXPERIENCE TO REMEMBER AND APPLY TO OUR DAILY LIVES!

Leave a Reply

