Anisha’s Story

19073848_1791932240833907_181000829_n.png

Anisha is a Global Links student who felt inspired to continue pursuing the Global Links programs despite setbacks with not being chosen as one of the final five Changemakers. Despite that though Anisha preserved.

Anisha’s Story by Anisha Pandey, Global Links Student

When I first read the inspirational quote by our late President, Sri Abul Kalam Azad: If you fail, never give up because F.A.I.L. means “First Attempt In Learning”, it felt motivating, but I did not know it would become my life in a few months’ time.

It was the month of October when 14 Global Links volunteers had come a long way through and it was time for the final selection. I was also amongst them. Clearing Phase II and stepping into Phase III was the only thing we wished for then. With hopes and aspirations, we were eagerly waiting for the names being called. Alas!! I could not hear my name. For a moment everything was at a standstill. I was extremely happy for my friends but also sad at my own failure. That was the time when I felt I wasn’t capable of anything. Doing good in academics alone would take me nowhere. This mental disturbance started affecting my preparations for the graduation final exams which were within a few months, but Prof. Banerjee stood by my side. Her way of scolding us at our mistakes and also applauding us for every small achievement just like a mother made me believe in myself. I did not make it through Phase III, but it was time to implement all that I had learned from Phases I and II. During my school days, I thought that making a to-do list was just a waste of ink and paper but its importance was understood during my GL journey. How Prof. Banerjee completed all her work on time before going to bed was highly appreciable. I started copying her. Preparing a to-do list every day helped me complete my hectic Graduation syllabus on time in an organized manner.

Exams were now over but what next??? Dr. Mary Conway Dato-on had once told me “Anisha, what if your client isn’t cooperative, use your ideas and creativity, it will help you”. I did not have any clients yet but I had my creativity. I started making gift items using old newspapers just to utilize my time and creativity. People started noticing my art and within a short span of time, I even received orders from a Multinational Company.

One day, 400 final year students were called for an orientation program organized by a Multinational Company (Tata Consultancy Services) at our college campus. I would love to deliver my handmade products to an MNC but I had no plans of working in an MNC, and not making through Phase III had lowered by self-confidence to some extent. GL taught us to grab all the opportunities that come our way, so why not give it a try?. Around 400 students were given a 10-day training. We were asked to prepare charts, reports and also give presentations. GL had made us make so many reports and presentations that while my friends panicked and found it a tough task I found it to be an interesting activity. My presentation was also praised a lot and I was selected amongst the 250 students who would take an aptitude test to the next selection stage. Everything was going well and 100 students including me were selected for the next three rounds of interview.

Dressed up in formal attire, 100 aspiring candidates were waiting for the first round of interviews. It was the technical round and I could easily make it through. It was time for the second round, in which 5 panelists would be questioning us to judge our confidence and our way of presenting ourselves in front of a group of people. Because of GL, I was familiar with giving presentations and speaking in front of around 50 people at the American Centre, so 5 wasn’t a big deal. My confidence kept growing. I was selected for the third and final round of interviews, which was the HR round. It was time for the names of selected candidates to be called. The entire scenario was similar to that of the American Centre 6 months back. There were 14 volunteers there and there were 50 students here. The Consulate General had the envelope in his hand then and the HR manager of the company had the envelope in his hand now. My confidence faded away recalling may past failure. It was now time for the names to be announced. Everything was going just the same but there was one BIG difference. I did not hear my name then but I did hear my name now. YES! I made it through. Same scenario, same situation but with one big difference. I wasn’t a failure now. I could win back my confidence. What a moment it was!

Everybody fails at some point in their lives. What matters most is moving forward and never giving up on success. GL showed me how I couldn’t succeed, which, in essence, made me prepared for success.

FAILURES ARE THE STEPPING STONES TO SUCCESS

Leave a Reply

